Focused enough, disciplined enough, passionate enough

Cray-Ish – Madness and Creatrivity

Here I am, trying to write the first real post for this new little column, wandering how to say what I want to say. So let`s start talking about last weekend. I was alone in the new flat (well… new for us, I wouldn`t call it new… I think that a right word for it may be bohemien) that I share with my boyfrind.
I basically locked myself in the house to write.
Here`s the thing, it`s almost true. I did in fact lock myself in and I did write. But I also unleashed my compulsions, I think I watched more than 10 episodes of Nashville (a fine tv series, by the way), just to name one.
Anyway. It was, by all means, a productive weekend because I managed to correct many chapters of Grifo, my fantasy novel. Despite it, though, I kept blaming myself for not being focused enough, disciplined enough, passionate enough.
So now I`m wandering: is it a common trait of (young) writers/artists with stress control issues?
And if so: is there a way to stop accusing ourselves and enjoy our time a bit more?
And if so: should we? Or our very own blame and unhappiness is what keeps us going?
Ok, that`s way too dramatic, but still. Would I be so motivated without this little nasty voice in my head, constantly reminding me that I must write no matter what because otherwise… I will be locked into my head… and we don`t want that, do we?
2 thoughts on “Focused enough, disciplined enough, passionate enough

  1. Ti capisco… credimi… anche se a volte vorrei potermi rinchiudere da qualche parte per scrivere! Forse perché mi ritrovo con troppe altre priorità, da esaudire per il quieto vivere in famiglia (vedrai, vedrai… arriverà il tuo turno!) e poi tralascio le mie di necessità viscerali.
    Ho adorato Grifo… e sono certa che scaturirà un romanzo fantasy molto speciale!
    Io ho parecchie novità, molto belle in effetti, ma attendo a rendere pubblico per scaramanzia!
    Lo scorso 24.12.14 ho scritto a Sana per la famosa pagina Wiki ma non ho più sentito nulla… devo chiedere a qc. altra persona? Hai un suggerimento?
    Per ora, fatti coraggio e goditi la tua libertà intellettuale! per idee ho trovato questo link che mi è piaciuto
    http://www.publishingcrawl.com/2012/04/17/how-to-write-a-1-page-synopsis
    Un grosso bacione :-)c

    Mi piace

    1. Ciao Claudine!! Devo dire che ora che la casetta e` sistemata, il lavoro va bene, mi sto proprio godendo la scrittura! Anche se le vocette interiori sono sempre insoddisfatte di solito riesco a metterle a tacere!! Non so per quanto riguarda Sana, probabilmente e` molto impegnata con i suoi progetti artistici informatici, se non ti risponde prova co qualcun altro!
      Un abbraccio, spero di sentire presto le tue novita`!!

      Mi piace

Rispondi

